Blog

Do something that scares you

I have a big(ish) announcement. Ignore the fact that millions of people make this same announcement every day. I’m telling my readers so I can be held accountable.

I’m going to write a book.

It’s been my dream since I was a kid and after a very rough few months of adjusting to a new life, I’ve decided it’s finally time to get it out. In face, I’m going to write two books! My main goal is a full-length novel that covers what it is like to be a young adult with depression/mental illness, but in fiction form. I want something that people my age can identify with and realize they aren’t broken, weird or unfixable.

The short-term goal: write an e-book based off a story I actually started writing in high school. I went through this weird phase where I was obsessed with death and what happened after. The story I began writing was about a girl who died and because of her refusal to let go of her life on Earth, she found a way to break through the barrier between the after-life and the living. But not in a ghost-y way. I think this will be what I hit first because it’s something I can easily turn into just a short story.

So. For my tiny amount of followers I have on here: I’m going to do updates every now and then, again, to hold myself accountable. I’d love feedback. I will probably even post snippets of what I’m writing on both books to get ideas, editing, approvals or disapprovals.

This is going to be a long, long journey. And even though I’ve always been impatient, this is going to be worth it. I can correctly call myself a published writer now after three years in this field. But my next stop? Novel writer.

2 thoughts on “Do something that scares you

Leave a Reply

