Blog

What you’re really meant to do

I’m terrible at keeping up with blogs. Which is unfortunate because I really like writing them. However this semester I just actually haven’t had time to keep updating. And I just recently found out why.

I’ve been forced to do something I don’t like. I had no idea what I was doing when I entered the journalism department here at ASU. Not a clue. I didn’t really know what Photojournalism meant, I just wanted to write travel pieces and take pretty pictures. Now that I’m a semester away from graduating I’ve realized Photojournalism isn’t the path for me. I prefer studio portraits, things I can be in control of. I don’t want my editor calling me at three in the morning to go cover some explosion or car wreck. That isn’t me.

I want to put my energy into writing because I’m good at it. I don’t say that to sound pretentious, it’s just something I’m confident in. I feel I can get somewhere with my talent, and I want to focus on that.

So in these quick 10 minutes I have before class, I just want to give some words of encouragement to any young journalists out there (because I’m so old and wise myself, right?). It’s okay if you realize you are on the wrong path. You need to do what is right for you, not other people. Just because others expect something of you doesn’t mean you have to follow through with it. Take a hold of your passion and run with it, even if it means a career or major change. Live for you, not somebody else.

Leave a Reply

